Linton Weeks http://wmra.org en The Grumpy Point: When A Man Turns 70 http://wmra.org/post/grumpy-point-when-man-turns-70 The approximate moment when grumpiness kicks in for men, according to a <a href="http://psycnet.apa.org/index.cfm?fa=browsePA.volumes&jcode=pag" target="_blank"> recently released report</a>, is around age 70.<p>Then you'd better get off his lawn.<p>Researchers found that as men grow older — from, say, 50 on — they have fewer obstacles and annoyances to worry about in life and, furthermore, they are more equipped to deal with adversity. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:13:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 38479 at http://wmra.org The Grumpy Point: When A Man Turns 70 4 Strange Sports In America's Past http://wmra.org/post/4-strange-sports-americas-past In recent pursuits, we have come upon accounts of once-practiced — and somewhat, shall we say, curious — sports that have long since faded into obscurity.<p>Competitive walking in the 1870s and 1880s, for instance. "In the decades after the Civil War there was mass urbanization in the United States," Matthew Algeo — author of <em>Pedestrianism: When Watching People Walk Was America's Favorite Spectator Sport</em> — <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/04/03/297327865/in-the-1870s-and-80s-being-a-pedestrian-was-anything-but" target="_blank">recently told NPR</a>. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:19:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 38378 at http://wmra.org 4 Strange Sports In America's Past 5 April Fools' Pranks Gone Bad http://wmra.org/post/5-april-fools-pranks-gone-bad Perhaps in a calmer, more innocent era — if there ever was such a thing — April Fools' jokes made more sense. Nowadays the world seems overrun with <a href="http://www.trutv.com/shows/impractical-jokers/index.html" target="_blank">Impractical Jokers</a>, <a href="http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0318959/?ref_=nv_sr_1" target="_blank">Crank Yankers</a> and <a href="http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0367274/?ref_=nv_sr_2" target="_blank">Ali G</a>-type tricksters. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 15:13:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 37881 at http://wmra.org 5 April Fools' Pranks Gone Bad Vladimir Putin Is Right Out Of A Russian Novel http://wmra.org/post/vladimir-putin-right-out-russian-novel "Russia is a <em>hypothetical</em> culture. Ruled by despots for most of our history, we are used to living in fiction rather than reality," <a href="http://ninakhrushcheva.wordpress.com/2014/03/11/vova-the-dread-and-the-fiction-of-russia/" target="_blank">writes</a> Nina L. Khrushcheva, who teaches international affairs at <a href="http://www.newschool.edu/public-engagement/faculty-list/?id=87811">The New School</a>. Sat, 29 Mar 2014 23:13:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 37784 at http://wmra.org Vladimir Putin Is Right Out Of A Russian Novel What Winter Will Be Like In 100 Years http://wmra.org/post/what-winter-will-be-100-years One of the upsides to the seemingly endless winter of 2014 was that you had time to think.<p>And to ask futuristic questions, such as: What will the American Winter of 2114 be like?<p>Here are some of the answers.<p><strong>Milder: </strong>In the midst of the Sochi Olympics, the <em>New York Times</em> posted a <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2014/02/08/opinion/sunday/the-end-of-snow.html?_r=1" target="_blank">wake-up piece</a> about the future of snow skiing. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 15:13:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 37608 at http://wmra.org What Winter Will Be Like In 100 Years A Life Story In 6 Songs — Part 2 http://wmra.org/post/life-story-6-songs-part-2 Sifting through the hundreds and hundreds of replies to NPR's request — <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/theprotojournalist/2014/01/11/222170422/tell-us-the-6-songs-of-your-life">Tell Us The 6 Songs Of Your Life</a> — we rediscover just how meaningful music can be in our lives, and the supermagical powers that some songs possess.<p><em>I Want To Hold Your Hand, </em>for example ...<p><ul><p><li>The song "ties into 7<sup>th</sup> grade mixers," recalls Leon Ritter, 62, of Indiana, and the "realization that girls weren't yucky."</li><p><li>Meghan Rosenthal, 31, of North Carolina, "listened to t Tue, 25 Mar 2014 15:13:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 37553 at http://wmra.org A Life Story In 6 Songs — Part 2 American Libraries Learn To Read Teenagers http://wmra.org/post/american-libraries-learn-read-teenagers Way, way back in the 20<sup>th</sup> century, American teenagers turned to the local public library as a great good place to hang out. It was a hotspot for meeting up, and sharing thoughts with, other like-minded people – in books and in the flesh. It was a wormhole in the universe that gave us tunnels into the past and into the future. It was a quiet spot in an ever-noisier world.<p>The library was a gentle mentor. It accepted us as we were and let us grow at our own pace – as teens are wont to do. It taught us about sports and sex. About fashion and finance. Sat, 22 Mar 2014 15:13:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 37436 at http://wmra.org Forget Speed-Reading. Here's Speed-Writing http://wmra.org/post/forget-speed-reading-heres-speed-writing Speed-reading all rage. Suddenly many speed-reading apps. <a href="http://www.spritzinc.com/faq/" target="_blank">Spritz</a>. <a href="http://www.spreeder.com/" target="_blank">Spreeder</a>. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 17:11:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 37013 at http://wmra.org Forget Speed-Reading. Here's Speed-Writing FootGolf: A New Sport Explored In 19 Questions http://wmra.org/post/footgolf-new-sport-explored-19-questions <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tDeUwZwZumU</p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 15:13:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 37007 at http://wmra.org FootGolf: A New Sport Explored In 19 Questions I Just Hate Rants http://wmra.org/post/i-just-hate-rants I hate rants.<p>I can't stand it when people spew and spit and spout off. I hate when folks fume and fulminate. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 15:13:00 +0000 Linton Weeks 36833 at http://wmra.org I Just Hate Rants