News http://wmra.org en Best in Class http://wmra.org/post/best-class <p>On first airing, the episode was titled “Teaching Children to Make Music.”&nbsp; The Virginia Association of Broadcasters has just honored it the as 2013’s &nbsp;best public radio, public affairs program in the commonwealth. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 42257 at http://wmra.org Best in Class Checking on the Wild http://wmra.org/post/checking-wild <p>For more than 30 years, the Wildlife Center of Virginia has been treating injured animals and releasing them back into the wild. That work has garnered praise around the world. But now there is international attention on another front -- the Center’s success at cementing public support through use of internet portals. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 42100 at http://wmra.org Checking on the Wild Plans For, And Opposition To, Proposed Fracking Pipeline in Virginia http://wmra.org/post/plans-and-opposition-proposed-fracking-pipeline-virginia <p>In July 2014, the first survey crews should be appearing on private lands along a proposed new pipeline's route.&nbsp; Construction is expected to get underway in 18 to 24 months. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 21:01:02 +0000 Terry Ward 42223 at http://wmra.org Plans For, And Opposition To, Proposed Fracking Pipeline in Virginia Rail Safety in Virginia - 5 Part Series http://wmra.org/post/rail-safety-virginia-5-part-series <p>It’s been nearly two months since a train derailed in Lynchburg, sending a fireball into the sky above that city’s downtown and spilling oil into the James River.&nbsp; Experts said the accident could have been far worse, and many communities along the state’s 32-hundred miles of railroad face similar dangers.</p><p>Sandy Hausman has this series on rail safety and why the risks have risen dramatically.</p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 19:27:03 +0000 Sandy Hausman 42148 at http://wmra.org Teen Confessions http://wmra.org/post/teen-confessions <p>No matter how you feel about prosecuting crime, one thing is certain:&nbsp; When an innocent person is wrongly convicted, the real criminal walks free.</p><p>That is one of the reasons some Virginia researchers are looking at why teenagers seem especially prone to making false confessions.</p><p>We examine the research findings, and consider the case for making changes in how police interrogate juveniles.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 41956 at http://wmra.org Teen Confessions Senator Tim Kaine, Others, Host Climate Hearing http://wmra.org/post/senator-tim-kaine-others-host-climate-hearing <p>On Monday, June 30, two Virginia Democrats teamed up with two Virginia Republicans in a hearing into combatting sea level rise along the eastern shore. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 11:08:03 +0000 Bob Leweke 42079 at http://wmra.org Paul Heitsch - The Spoken Word http://wmra.org/post/paul-heitsch-spoken-word <p>This time on the Spark, Martha speaks with audio book producer Paul Heitsch. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 22:20:00 +0000 Martha Woodroof 41991 at http://wmra.org Paul Heitsch - The Spoken Word A Virginia Politics Update http://wmra.org/post/virginia-politics-update-10 <p>It is months behind schedule.&nbsp; But just in the nick of time, Virginia government is getting a new state budget.</p><p>Yet in addition to steep cuts, harsh words, and vetoes that may not be constitutional... there is also the Governor’s announcement that he will try to go it alone on expanding Medicaid.</p><p>And those are just <em>some</em> of the issues up for discussion on this politics update edition.</p><p></p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 41236 at http://wmra.org A Virginia Politics Update Battle Lines Over Medicaid in Virginia Become Clearer http://wmra.org/post/battle-lines-over-medicaid-virginia-become-clearer <p>With the release of a new report today, Republicans in the House of Delegates drew a firm constitutional line against Governor Terry McAuliffe. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:52:47 +0000 Bob Leweke 41875 at http://wmra.org Ed Gillespie Campaign Seeks to Unseat Mark Warner http://wmra.org/post/ed-gillespie-campaign-seeks-unseat-mark-warner <p><a href="http://edforsenate.com/">Ed Gillespie</a> is a Republican political strategist, former Chairman of the Republican National Committee, and was also an advisor to President George W. Bush.</p><p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 10:30:00 +0000 Bob Leweke 41753 at http://wmra.org