News http://wmra.org en FutureWork: How Technology Will Redefine The Culture Of Work http://wmra.org/post/futurework-how-technology-will-redefine-culture-work <p>In honor of Labor Day, <em>Virginia Insight </em>presents this special look at how technological advances have put us on the edge of a new industrial revolution.</p><p>Robert Reich, former Secretary of Labor and Professor of Public Policy at UC Berkeley, and Susan Hassler, Editor-In-Chief of IEEE Spectrum Magazine, are joined by engineers, scientists, and futurists from MIT, Carnegie-Mellon, Rice Univ., and the Institute for the Future to give insights into how technology will redefine work in the not too distant future.</p> Mon, 01 Sep 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 44753 at http://wmra.org FutureWork: How Technology Will Redefine The Culture Of Work Military Buzzcut: Not! http://wmra.org/post/military-buzzcut-not <p>Navy vet Karl Beckett amazed WMRA's Martha Woodroof by sporting the biggest hair she'd seen "since the 1970’s." Martha just had to introduce herself and ask his story. Fri, 29 Aug 2014 23:20:00 +0000 Martha Woodroof 32895 at http://wmra.org Military Buzzcut: Not! Individual Sustainability? http://wmra.org/post/individual-sustainability <p></p><p></p><p><br /><em>Sustainability</em> is a word many of us have come to associate with ecology and the environment.&nbsp; But what do you make of the term "sustainable personality" ?<br /><br />A Virginia researcher believes that if more of us created such a personality for ourselves, the world would be a far better place.&nbsp; And he thinks we would likely be much happier too.<br /> Thu, 28 Aug 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 44611 at http://wmra.org Individual Sustainability? Pilot Died in Jet Crash in Augusta County http://wmra.org/post/pilot-died-jet-crash-augusta-county <p><span class="userContent" data-ft="{&quot;tn&quot;:&quot;K&quot;}">The pilot of the military jet that crashed Wednesday morning in Augusta County died in the crash, officials say. No one on the ground was injured, and the investigation continues into the cause of the crash.<br /><br />The pilot’s name is being withheld until family members can be notified.*</span></p><p></p> Wed, 27 Aug 2014 19:40:00 +0000 Sandy Hausman 44713 at http://wmra.org Governor Touts New Farm Environmental Program http://wmra.org/post/governor-touts-new-farm-environmental-program <p>How do you bring farmers, environmentalists, Republicans and Democrats in Virginia together?&nbsp; Mon, 25 Aug 2014 22:55:39 +0000 Andrew Jenner 44633 at http://wmra.org Governor Touts New Farm Environmental Program The Mental Health Care Gap http://wmra.org/post/mental-health-care-gap <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>A Virginia economist has developed a new model for gauging how many people are in need of mental health care.&nbsp; He is now in the process of comparing that need to the level of services available. That economist is one of our guests as we consider who is getting necessary mental health care in the Old Dominion.&nbsp; And who is not. Mon, 25 Aug 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 44498 at http://wmra.org The Mental Health Care Gap The Dreaded BluesLady http://wmra.org/post/dreaded-blueslady <p>WMRA's Martha Woodroof meets Waynesboro blues singer Lorie Strother, who grew up living on the streets of Boston. Now, even though she’s got five children, a master’s degree and a good job, she still sings the blues with conviction.&nbsp; Fri, 22 Aug 2014 22:20:30 +0000 Martha Woodroof 37619 at http://wmra.org The Dreaded BluesLady Standardized Testing: Benefits and Challenges http://wmra.org/post/standardized-testing-benefits-and-challenges <p></p><p></p><p>Standardized tests.&nbsp; They have long been part of public education.&nbsp; But is an increasing emphasis on these exams having unintended consequences?&nbsp; The state of testing in Virginia schools is our focus.<br /> Thu, 21 Aug 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 44323 at http://wmra.org Standardized Testing: Benefits and Challenges Montpelier http://wmra.org/post/montpelier <p></p><p>Montpelier.&nbsp; If you think of it as the quaint museum where James and Dolley Madison once lived,&nbsp; you have not been there in a while. &nbsp;<br /> Mon, 18 Aug 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 44167 at http://wmra.org Montpelier Like A Rolling Ssam http://wmra.org/post/rolling-ssam <p>Harrisonburg's foodie scene got more variety with the arrival of Mashita, a food truck serving Korean cuisine.&nbsp; WMRA's Martha Woodroof chats with enterprising epicurean, Mikey Reisenberg.&nbsp;&nbsp; Thu, 14 Aug 2014 23:20:00 +0000 Martha Woodroof 33438 at http://wmra.org Like A Rolling Ssam