WMRA News http://wmra.org en Camping "Up With People" -- in Harrisonburg http://wmra.org/post/camping-people-harrisonburg <p></p><p>Most of us can remember a week spent as teenagers a little ways from home canoeing, hiking, swimming, playing softball, getting sunburned, and maybe getting homesick. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 10:30:00 +0000 Bob Leweke 42520 at http://wmra.org Camping "Up With People" -- in Harrisonburg Rail Safety in Virginia - 5 Part Series http://wmra.org/post/rail-safety-virginia-5-part-series <p>It’s been nearly two months since a train derailed in Lynchburg, sending a fireball into the sky above that city’s downtown and spilling oil into the James River.&nbsp; Experts said the accident could have been far worse, and many communities along the state’s 32-hundred miles of railroad face similar dangers.</p><p>Sandy Hausman has this series on rail safety and why the risks have risen dramatically.</p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 19:27:03 +0000 Sandy Hausman 42148 at http://wmra.org Senator Tim Kaine, Others, Host Climate Hearing http://wmra.org/post/senator-tim-kaine-others-host-climate-hearing <p>On Monday, June 30, two Virginia Democrats teamed up with two Virginia Republicans in a hearing into combatting sea level rise along the eastern shore. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 11:08:03 +0000 Bob Leweke 42079 at http://wmra.org Battle Lines Over Medicaid in Virginia Become Clearer http://wmra.org/post/battle-lines-over-medicaid-virginia-become-clearer <p>With the release of a new report today, Republicans in the House of Delegates drew a firm constitutional line against Governor Terry McAuliffe. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:52:47 +0000 Bob Leweke 41875 at http://wmra.org Ed Gillespie Campaign Seeks to Unseat Mark Warner http://wmra.org/post/ed-gillespie-campaign-seeks-unseat-mark-warner <p><a href="http://edforsenate.com/">Ed Gillespie</a> is a Republican political strategist, former Chairman of the Republican National Committee, and was also an advisor to President George W. Bush.</p><p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 10:30:00 +0000 Bob Leweke 41753 at http://wmra.org Charlottesville 103.5fm - On The Air! http://wmra.org/post/charlottesville-1035fm-air <p>Our Charlottesville transmitter (WMRY) was off the air from Thursday night to Friday morning, but we're now back up to full power. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 14:11:57 +0000 Matt Bingay 41643 at http://wmra.org General Assembly Passes Budget, Ending Stalemate http://wmra.org/post/general-assembly-passes-budget-ending-stalemate <p>Virginia Public Radio is reporting that the three-month budget impasse has ended.&nbsp; Fri, 13 Jun 2014 10:26:26 +0000 Bob Leweke 41287 at http://wmra.org $70,000... Thank You! http://wmra.org/post/70000-thank-you <p>The WMRA June Fundraiser ended Friday, June 6, with over $70,000 raised.</p><p>Thank you very much to all who contributed to help us get closer to ending our budget year in the black.</p><p>Also, thank you to all who contributed to the <em>Member Matching Fund</em>, and to the many businesses and individuals who issued challenges and contributed giveaways.</p><p>If you couldn't find the time to support WMRA during our <em>Bridge The Gap</em> June drive, please&nbsp;<strong style="line-height: 1.5;"><a href="https://support.wmra.org/WebModuleV862/Donate.aspx?P=DEFAULT&amp;PAGETYPE=PLG&amp;CHECK=vOU2bz5JCWmgCDbf53nm9ezWDeZ+eA1M">give now</a>.</strong> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Matt Bingay 40984 at http://wmra.org Charlottesville Sustainability Summit - June 21 http://wmra.org/post/charlottesville-sustainability-summit-june-21 <p></p><p>Saturday afternoon, June 21st, WMRA is hosting the next <em>Sustainability Summit</em> in Charlottesville. You are invited to join us at the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities as we begin to craft the future for WMRA. What goals do you think we should pursue... and how can we get there together? Fri, 06 Jun 2014 19:22:42 +0000 Al Bartholet 41001 at http://wmra.org Charlottesville Sustainability Summit - June 21 The American Liszt Society Festival Comes to Harrisonburg http://wmra.org/post/american-liszt-society-festival-comes-harrisonburg <p>The American Liszt Society was founded 50 years ago to honor and promote the music of Hungarian composer Franz Liszt, with annual concerts and conferences around the country.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 10:30:00 +0000 Bob Leweke 40827 at http://wmra.org The American Liszt Society Festival Comes to Harrisonburg