The Spark http://wmra.org en Yoga Pink http://wmra.org/post/yoga-pink <p>Susan Nelson’s story of breast cancer survival and Kundalini yoga.&nbsp; Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:20:40 +0000 Martha Woodroof 38544 at http://wmra.org Yoga Pink Jazz Singer http://wmra.org/post/jazz-singer <p>After years of absorbing musical influences from Brooklyn and Boston, jazz singer Nadine Chase in 2007 settled in the Shenandoah Valley. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:19:44 +0000 Martha Woodroof 38310 at http://wmra.org Jazz Singer He's Puzzling http://wmra.org/post/hes-puzzling <p>WMRA's Martha Woodroof chats with Staunton's Matt Gaffney, whose puzzles have been published by the <em>New York Times</em>, <em>Newsday</em>, the <em>Wall Street Journal</em>, the <em>Washington Post</em>, <em>GAMES Magazine</em>, the <em>Los Angeles Times</em>, and others.&nbsp; Fri, 04 Apr 2014 22:20:00 +0000 Martha Woodroof 32263 at http://wmra.org He's Puzzling The Dreaded BluesLady http://wmra.org/post/dreaded-blueslady <p>WMRA's Martha Woodroof meets Waynesboro blues singer Lorie Strother, who grew up living on the streets of Boston. Now, even though she’s got five children, a master’s degree and a good job, she still sings the blues with conviction.&nbsp; Fri, 28 Mar 2014 22:20:32 +0000 Martha Woodroof 37619 at http://wmra.org The Dreaded BluesLady Mary Ann Alger http://wmra.org/post/mary-ann-alger <p>Before Mary Ann Alger, wife of JMU President John Alger,&nbsp; became a university’s&nbsp; First Lady, she had a high-flying career in international banking and finance. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 22:20:33 +0000 Martha Woodroof 37277 at http://wmra.org Mary Ann Alger Reaching (and Reaching and Reaching) for the Stars http://wmra.org/post/reaching-and-reaching-and-reaching-stars <p>After a stream of rejections, Paul Bogard's book about light pollution, <em>The End of Night</em>, finally got published and got lots of praise.&nbsp; Fri, 14 Mar 2014 22:20:01 +0000 Martha Woodroof 37010 at http://wmra.org Reaching (and Reaching and Reaching) for the Stars Who Needs Real Birds? http://wmra.org/post/who-needs-real-birds <p>A beautiful and disturbing new children's book set in the year 2031 by visual artist Kate Samworth raises awareness of species extinction.&nbsp; Fri, 07 Mar 2014 23:20:12 +0000 Martha Woodroof 36688 at http://wmra.org Who Needs Real Birds? Geek Gods vs Loose Screws? http://wmra.org/post/geek-gods-vs-loose-screws <p>Western Albemarle High school has a powerhouse robotics club for students who enjoy designing and fabricating machines that can do things. This club has spawned two teams (The Geeks Gods and the Loose Screws) that are set to compete in their third consecutive Virginia state robotics championship.&nbsp; Fri, 28 Feb 2014 23:20:29 +0000 Martha Woodroof 36402 at http://wmra.org Geek Gods vs Loose Screws? do-RE-mi-fa-so-la-ti http://wmra.org/post/do-re-mi-fa-so-la-ti <p>John del <strong>Re</strong> doesn’t participate in shape note singing just to make music, he participates to engage in community.<br /> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 21:15:06 +0000 Martha Woodroof 36060 at http://wmra.org do-RE-mi-fa-so-la-ti Hillside School Starter http://wmra.org/post/hillside-school-starter <p>Suddenly becoming a mommy prompted Charlottesville's Sarah Gerome to start a school. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 23:20:00 +0000 Martha Woodroof 35769 at http://wmra.org Hillside School Starter