Main Street Community Partnership http://wmra.org en Plans For, And Opposition To, Proposed Fracking Pipeline in Virginia http://wmra.org/post/plans-and-opposition-proposed-fracking-pipeline-virginia <p>In July 2014, the first survey crews should be appearing on private lands along a proposed new pipeline's route.&nbsp; Construction is expected to get underway in 18 to 24 months. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 21:01:02 +0000 Terry Ward 42223 at http://wmra.org Plans For, And Opposition To, Proposed Fracking Pipeline in Virginia Yes, Virginia, That Was Another Earthquake http://wmra.org/post/yes-virginia-was-another-earthquake <p>On May 21 of 2014, a weak earthquake felt at night in Charlottesville, Lynchburg, Louisa, and elsewhere mostly just rattled nerves as the historic <a href="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011_Virginia_earthquake" target="_blank">2011 Virginia Earthquake</a> leapt to mind. Thu, 22 May 2014 14:23:27 +0000 Terry Ward 40281 at http://wmra.org Yes, Virginia, That Was Another Earthquake If You Parked Near The Lynchburg Oil Train Blaze http://wmra.org/post/if-you-parked-near-lynchburg-oil-train-blaze <p>You may move your car now --but first must check in with the police on 9th Street.&nbsp; Because of the <a href="http://wmra.org/post/oil-train-crash-and-50-foot-fireball-lynchburg" target="_blank">oil train disaster</a>, many parked vehicles were stranded at Depot Grille or along Jefferson Street. Evacuees (around 300 people) now may return. On the downtown side of the James River, would-be bike trail riders and RiverWalk users need to make other plans for the near future. Thu, 01 May 2014 12:47:33 +0000 Terry Ward 39293 at http://wmra.org If You Parked Near The Lynchburg Oil Train Blaze Open Schools During Blizzards? http://wmra.org/post/open-schools-during-blizzards <p>Some members of Albemarle county's school board supported keeping schools open during winter storms by temporarily switching school bus stops to the major roads most likely to be plowed first. However, the idea of schoolkids hiking slippery snowbound secondary roads in wind chill conditions alarmed some board members. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 16:33:38 +0000 Terry Ward 38540 at http://wmra.org Open Schools During Blizzards? Involuntarily-Inked Va Kids Could Get Out-of-State Help http://wmra.org/post/involuntarily-inked-va-kids-could-get-out-state-help <p>Two Virginia girls involuntarily tattooed by their babysitter could get free removal treatments by a good Samaritan from the North. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 15:43:55 +0000 Terry Ward 38536 at http://wmra.org Involuntarily-Inked Va Kids Could Get Out-of-State Help Charlottesville Listener on NPR http://wmra.org/post/charlottesville-listener-npr <p>Congrats to Heather McMann for an appearance on "All Things Considered" on Thursday, March 13, 2014. She was the first listener quoted by NPR (and the first one broadcast in her own voice) in Part IV of the series speculating about what would have happened if World War One had never happened. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 20:02:05 +0000 Terry Ward 37070 at http://wmra.org Charlottesville Listener on NPR Rockingham Fracking-Leases Issued? http://wmra.org/post/rockingham-fracking-leases-issued <p>That and other lesser-known drilling and fracking tidbits (including the occasional Bergton drilling boom/s) are in an <em>OldSouthHigh</em> article by Andrew Jenner.&nbsp; Tue, 07 Jan 2014 19:55:21 +0000 Terry Ward 34261 at http://wmra.org Rockingham Fracking-Leases Issued? C-ville "Knockout" Story Goes National http://wmra.org/post/c-ville-knockout-story-goes-national <p>A couple apparently brutally beaten while strolling the Charlottesville downtown pedestrian mall late on Dec 20 has been wondering why Charlottesville Police haven't publicized photos of the alleged assailants which the victims provided.&nbsp; Fri, 03 Jan 2014 23:03:52 +0000 Terry Ward 33956 at http://wmra.org C-ville "Knockout" Story Goes National Golfing on Conservation Easement Land? http://wmra.org/post/golfing-conservation-easement-land <p>Albemarle County-based Trump Winery hopes to build the Trump National Golf Club on land acquired from the Kluge estate. Trump would need a special use permit from county authorities to put a golf course on rural land. Tue, 03 Dec 2013 17:05:50 +0000 Terry Ward 32810 at http://wmra.org Golfing on Conservation Easement Land? Big City Graffiti Mural Under Harrisonburg http://wmra.org/post/big-city-graffiti-mural-under-harrisonburg <p>The street artist known in cities as "Bombproof" or just "BMBPRF" has Harrisonburg roots (EMHS Class of 2000) and in November of 2013, he returned to paint a tribute mural.&nbsp;&nbsp; Apparently, the picture is in the Black's Run tunnel system. The image is a little edgy, a little funky, and a lot of: duck. Mon, 18 Nov 2013 19:47:46 +0000 Terry Ward 32193 at http://wmra.org Big City Graffiti Mural Under Harrisonburg