local_news_charlottesville http://wmra.org en Yes, Virginia, That Was Another Earthquake http://wmra.org/post/yes-virginia-was-another-earthquake <p>On May 21 of 2014, a weak earthquake felt at night in Charlottesville, Lynchburg, Louisa, and elsewhere mostly just rattled nerves as the historic <a href="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011_Virginia_earthquake" target="_blank">2011 Virginia Earthquake</a> leapt to mind. Thu, 22 May 2014 14:23:27 +0000 Terry Ward 40281 at http://wmra.org Yes, Virginia, That Was Another Earthquake Open Schools During Blizzards? http://wmra.org/post/open-schools-during-blizzards <p>Some members of Albemarle county's school board supported keeping schools open during winter storms by temporarily switching school bus stops to the major roads most likely to be plowed first. However, the idea of schoolkids hiking slippery snowbound secondary roads in wind chill conditions alarmed some board members. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 16:33:38 +0000 Terry Ward 38540 at http://wmra.org Open Schools During Blizzards? Grisham, Banks for Innocence Project in Charlottesville (Event Wed.6pm) http://wmra.org/post/grisham-banks-innocence-project-charlottesville-event-wed6pm <p>WMRA's recent Virginia Insight episode about judicial false confessions, generated so much interest that it seemed wise to pass along info about a related event.<br /> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 16:09:07 +0000 Terry Ward 37499 at http://wmra.org Grisham, Banks for Innocence Project in Charlottesville (Event Wed.6pm) Activated: Zany "French" Redesign of I-64/US-15 Jct http://wmra.org/post/activated-zany-french-redesign-i-64us-15-jct <p>Bad news: the unnerving experience of driving up the "wrong" side of the road for a bit.&nbsp; Good news: big boosts in safety and in traffic flow. On Friday, Feb 21, Virginia's first-ever "French flip" intersection is scheduled to open just east of Charlottesville, at the once-sleepy but now overcrowded I-64 Zion Crossroads interchange. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Terry Ward 30723 at http://wmra.org Activated: Zany "French" Redesign of I-64/US-15 Jct C-ville "Knockout" Story Goes National http://wmra.org/post/c-ville-knockout-story-goes-national <p>A couple apparently brutally beaten while strolling the Charlottesville downtown pedestrian mall late on Dec 20 has been wondering why Charlottesville Police haven't publicized photos of the alleged assailants which the victims provided.&nbsp; Fri, 03 Jan 2014 23:03:52 +0000 Terry Ward 33956 at http://wmra.org C-ville "Knockout" Story Goes National Golfing on Conservation Easement Land? http://wmra.org/post/golfing-conservation-easement-land <p>Albemarle County-based Trump Winery hopes to build the Trump National Golf Club on land acquired from the Kluge estate. Trump would need a special use permit from county authorities to put a golf course on rural land. Tue, 03 Dec 2013 17:05:50 +0000 Terry Ward 32810 at http://wmra.org Golfing on Conservation Easement Land? School Police Funds Restored in Albemarle http://wmra.org/post/school-police-funds-restored-albemarle <p>During budget cuts in 2008-9, Albemarle county's public schools lost "School Resource Officer" (SRO) funding. SROs are uniformed police officers in schools who once had the somewhat mellow duty of giving "Just Say NO" talks and of being law enforcement's goodwill ambassadors among school kids.&nbsp; However, the recent wave of mass shootings has rekindled interest in having trained first-responders present in schools. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 19:32:27 +0000 Terry Ward 29820 at http://wmra.org School Police Funds Restored in Albemarle NPR's Terry Gross in Charlottesville http://wmra.org/post/nprs-terry-gross-charlottesville <p><em>Fresh Air</em> host Terry Gross will be appearing at The Paramount in Charlottesville, Thursday, September 26.&nbsp; Thu, 19 Sep 2013 20:48:23 +0000 Terry Ward 29516 at http://wmra.org NPR's Terry Gross in Charlottesville All "Songs" Considered Stars Played Charlottesville http://wmra.org/post/all-songs-considered-stars-played-charlottesville <p>The xx, an English alt-indie-electronic band whose haunting ambient song called <em>Intro</em> frequently appears as bumper music on NPR's <em>All Things Considered, </em>will perform in Charlottesville on Friday (Sept 20, 2013). Wed, 18 Sep 2013 22:44:22 +0000 Terry Ward 29468 at http://wmra.org All "Songs" Considered Stars Played Charlottesville