Main Street Community Partnership http://wmra.org en Plans For, And Opposition To, Proposed Fracking Pipeline in Virginia http://wmra.org/post/plans-and-opposition-proposed-fracking-pipeline-virginia <p>In July 2014, the first survey crews should be appearing on private lands along a proposed new pipeline's route.&nbsp; Construction is expected to get underway in 18 to 24 months. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 21:01:02 +0000 Terry Ward 42223 at http://wmra.org Plans For, And Opposition To, Proposed Fracking Pipeline in Virginia Yes, Virginia, That Was Another Earthquake http://wmra.org/post/yes-virginia-was-another-earthquake <p>On May 21 of 2014, a weak earthquake felt at night in Charlottesville, Lynchburg, Louisa, and elsewhere mostly just rattled nerves as the historic <a href="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011_Virginia_earthquake" target="_blank">2011 Virginia Earthquake</a> leapt to mind. Thu, 22 May 2014 14:23:27 +0000 Terry Ward 40281 at http://wmra.org Yes, Virginia, That Was Another Earthquake Oil Train Crash and 50-Foot Fireball in Lynchburg http://wmra.org/post/oil-train-crash-and-50-foot-fireball-lynchburg <p>The latest fiery oil train incident is in the WMRA area. In downtown Lynchburg, a CSX oil train derailed near the Depot Grille. Towering flames and a column of black smoke prompted a local state of emergency, evacuations, and warnings to avoid the area. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 19:01:26 +0000 Terry Ward 39258 at http://wmra.org Oil Train Crash and 50-Foot Fireball in Lynchburg Open Schools During Blizzards? http://wmra.org/post/open-schools-during-blizzards <p>Some members of Albemarle county's school board supported keeping schools open during winter storms by temporarily switching school bus stops to the major roads most likely to be plowed first. However, the idea of schoolkids hiking slippery snowbound secondary roads in wind chill conditions alarmed some board members. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 16:33:38 +0000 Terry Ward 38540 at http://wmra.org Open Schools During Blizzards? Involuntarily-Inked Va Kids Could Get Out-of-State Help http://wmra.org/post/involuntarily-inked-va-kids-could-get-out-state-help <p>Two Virginia girls involuntarily tattooed by their babysitter could get free removal treatments by a good Samaritan from the North. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 15:43:55 +0000 Terry Ward 38536 at http://wmra.org Involuntarily-Inked Va Kids Could Get Out-of-State Help Grisham, Banks for Innocence Project in Charlottesville (Event Wed.6pm) http://wmra.org/post/grisham-banks-innocence-project-charlottesville-event-wed6pm <p>WMRA's recent Virginia Insight episode about judicial false confessions, generated so much interest that it seemed wise to pass along info about a related event.<br /> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 16:09:07 +0000 Terry Ward 37499 at http://wmra.org Grisham, Banks for Innocence Project in Charlottesville (Event Wed.6pm) Activated: Zany "French" Redesign of I-64/US-15 Jct http://wmra.org/post/activated-zany-french-redesign-i-64us-15-jct <p>Bad news: the unnerving experience of driving up the "wrong" side of the road for a bit.&nbsp; Good news: big boosts in safety and in traffic flow. On Friday, Feb 21, Virginia's first-ever "French flip" intersection is scheduled to open just east of Charlottesville, at the once-sleepy but now overcrowded I-64 Zion Crossroads interchange. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Terry Ward 30723 at http://wmra.org Activated: Zany "French" Redesign of I-64/US-15 Jct Rockingham Fracking-Leases Issued? http://wmra.org/post/rockingham-fracking-leases-issued <p>That and other lesser-known drilling and fracking tidbits (including the occasional Bergton drilling boom/s) are in an <em>OldSouthHigh</em> article by Andrew Jenner.&nbsp; Tue, 07 Jan 2014 19:55:21 +0000 Terry Ward 34261 at http://wmra.org Rockingham Fracking-Leases Issued? C-ville "Knockout" Story Goes National http://wmra.org/post/c-ville-knockout-story-goes-national <p>A couple apparently brutally beaten while strolling the Charlottesville downtown pedestrian mall late on Dec 20 has been wondering why Charlottesville Police haven't publicized photos of the alleged assailants which the victims provided.&nbsp; Fri, 03 Jan 2014 23:03:52 +0000 Terry Ward 33956 at http://wmra.org C-ville "Knockout" Story Goes National Golfing on Conservation Easement Land? http://wmra.org/post/golfing-conservation-easement-land <p>Albemarle County-based Trump Winery hopes to build the Trump National Golf Club on land acquired from the Kluge estate. Trump would need a special use permit from county authorities to put a golf course on rural land. Tue, 03 Dec 2013 17:05:50 +0000 Terry Ward 32810 at http://wmra.org Golfing on Conservation Easement Land?