local_news_harrisonburg http://wmra.org en Rockingham Fracking-Leases Issued? http://wmra.org/post/rockingham-fracking-leases-issued <p>That and other lesser-known drilling and fracking tidbits (including the occasional Bergton drilling boom/s) are in an <em>OldSouthHigh</em> article by Andrew Jenner.&nbsp; Tue, 07 Jan 2014 19:55:21 +0000 Terry Ward 34261 at http://wmra.org Rockingham Fracking-Leases Issued? Big City Graffiti Mural Under Harrisonburg http://wmra.org/post/big-city-graffiti-mural-under-harrisonburg <p>The street artist known in cities as "Bombproof" or just "BMBPRF" has Harrisonburg roots (EMHS Class of 2000) and in November of 2013, he returned to paint a tribute mural.&nbsp;&nbsp; Apparently, the picture is in the Black's Run tunnel system. The image is a little edgy, a little funky, and a lot of: duck. Mon, 18 Nov 2013 19:47:46 +0000 Terry Ward 32193 at http://wmra.org Big City Graffiti Mural Under Harrisonburg A Giant Dies in Bridgewater http://wmra.org/post/giant-dies-bridgewater <p>In the fall of 2013, veterans were in the news a lot. First, vets were in the headlines when denied access to the National World War II Memorial during the Government Shutdown of 2013. Shortly afterward, during Veterans Day activities, televised tributes to vets poured in. Between these peaks of veteran-awareness, a giant of military history (and also of sheer human willpower) quietly passed away in Bridgewater, Virginia: General James "Robbie" Risner, age 88. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 22:16:36 +0000 Terry Ward 31942 at http://wmra.org A Giant Dies in Bridgewater McAuliffe & Clinton Stumping in Virginia http://wmra.org/post/mcauliffe-clinton-stumping-virginia <p><span style="font-family: arial,helvetica,sans-serif;">Early Tuesday morning, October 29, 2013, Virginia Democratic gubernatorial candidate Terry McAuliffe, along with </span><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif;">President Bill Clinton, made a campaign stop at James Madison University in Harrisonburg as part of their </span><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif;">“Putting Jobs First” tour.</span></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Future Campaign Stops:</p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 18:30:21 +0000 Terry Ward & Bob Leweke 31287 at http://wmra.org McAuliffe & Clinton Stumping in Virginia Harrisonburg Gets More Artsy Films http://wmra.org/post/harrisonburg-gets-more-artsy-films <p>Downtown Harrisonburg's Court Square Theater has ramped up the number of films it shows. Now they often have movies daily.&nbsp; They favor artsy cinema unlikely to appear at chain multiplex moviehouses. Woody Allen's latest film, Blue Jasmine, is hitting their screen. Thu, 19 Sep 2013 16:34:44 +0000 Terry Ward 29497 at http://wmra.org Harrisonburg Gets More Artsy Films MLK Street-Rename Opponents (And A Typo?) http://wmra.org/post/mlk-street-rename-opponents-and-typo <p>Harrisonburg city officials have decided to rename Cantrell Avenue in honor of Martin Luther King Jr., but the decision was not without controversy. Wed, 18 Sep 2013 18:23:07 +0000 Terry Ward 29388 at http://wmra.org MLK Street-Rename Opponents (And A Typo?) Artistic Appropriation or Just Inappropriate? http://wmra.org/post/artistic-appropriation-or-just-inappropriate <p>At Harrisonburg arthouse café, &nbsp;The Artful Dodger, a painting in a Rashidi Barrett art exhibit struck one visitor as &nbsp;disturbingly familiar --maybe another artist’s concept.&nbsp;&nbsp; It was.&nbsp; Soon news media from Norfolk to Richmond to the Shenandoah Valley were noticing. Mon, 04 Mar 2013 13:00:18 +0000 Terry Ward 19488 at http://wmra.org Artistic Appropriation or Just Inappropriate?