Virginia Insight http://wmra.org en The Mental Health Care Gap (Mon 3pm) http://wmra.org/post/mental-health-care-gap-mon-3pm <p><em><strong>On The Next Virginia Insight</strong></em>:</p><p></p><p></p><p>A Virginia economist has developed a new model for gauging how many people are in need of mental health care.&nbsp; He is now in the process of comparing that need to the level of services available. That economist is one of our guests as we consider who is getting necessary mental health care in the Old Dominion.&nbsp; And who is not. Fri, 22 Aug 2014 13:47:05 +0000 Tom Graham 44498 at http://wmra.org The Mental Health Care Gap (Mon 3pm) Standardized Testing: Benefits and Challenges http://wmra.org/post/standardized-testing-benefits-and-challenges <p></p><p></p><p>Standardized tests.&nbsp; They have long been part of public education.&nbsp; But is an increasing emphasis on these exams having unintended consequences?&nbsp; The state of testing in Virginia schools is our focus.<br /> Thu, 21 Aug 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 44323 at http://wmra.org Standardized Testing: Benefits and Challenges Montpelier http://wmra.org/post/montpelier <p></p><p>Montpelier.&nbsp; If you think of it as the quaint museum where James and Dolley Madison once lived,&nbsp; you have not been there in a while. &nbsp;<br /> Mon, 18 Aug 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 44167 at http://wmra.org Montpelier Woodrow Wilson: The Virginia Connections http://wmra.org/post/woodrow-wilson-virginia-connections <p></p><p></p><p>He was a Governor of New Jersey who became President.&nbsp; So why would his library be in Staunton, Virginia?&nbsp; Just one of the questions we address when we meet up with the curator of the Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Museum.<br /><br /> Thu, 14 Aug 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 44023 at http://wmra.org Woodrow Wilson: The Virginia Connections Woodrow Wilson: The Virginia Connections (Thu 3pm) http://wmra.org/post/woodrow-wilson-virginia-connections-thu-3pm <p><em><strong>On The Next Virginia Insight</strong></em>:</p><p></p><p>He was a Governor of New Jersey who became President.&nbsp; So why would his library be in Staunton, Virginia?&nbsp; Just one of the questions we address when we meet up with the curator of the Woodrow Wilson Library and Museum.<br /><br /> Mon, 11 Aug 2014 20:31:20 +0000 Tom Graham 44022 at http://wmra.org Woodrow Wilson: The Virginia Connections (Thu 3pm) Pipeline Concerns http://wmra.org/post/pipeline-concerns <p></p><p>How do you feel about natural gas?&nbsp;&nbsp; How do you feel about the possibility of an interstate natural gas pipeline running through your part of Virginia?&nbsp;&nbsp; Mon, 11 Aug 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 43862 at http://wmra.org Pipeline Concerns A Virginia Politics Update http://wmra.org/post/virginia-politics-update-11 <p><br />A former family values governor comes up with an unexpected courtroom defense. &nbsp;<br /><br />Virginia’s onetime “most powerful Congressman” announces he’s leaving office early. &nbsp;<br /><br />Just two of the surprise political headlines of late.&nbsp; We are certain to discover many more when we meet with our politics update team.<br /> Thu, 07 Aug 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 43716 at http://wmra.org A Virginia Politics Update What Teachers Can Learn from Brain Scientists. What Scientists Can Learn from Teachers. http://wmra.org/post/what-teachers-can-learn-brain-scientists-what-scientists-can-learn-teachers <p>People who teach:&nbsp; Might their efforts be helped by what scientists have been discovering about the human brain?&nbsp; David Daniel thinks that is possible.&nbsp; But he believes it is at least as important for scientists to consider how they could benefit by listening to teachers. &nbsp;<br /> Mon, 04 Aug 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 43541 at http://wmra.org What Teachers Can Learn from Brain Scientists. What Scientists Can Learn from Teachers. Alone with Your Thoughts http://wmra.org/post/alone-your-thoughts <p></p><p></p><p>It sounds pretty easy. Sit in a room, by yourself, with no distractions. Then just pay attention to your thoughts for 10 or 15 minutes. But apparently most of us cannot do it. Or, if we can, chances are good we will heartily dislike doing it. Those are the findings from an unusual new study. &nbsp;<br /> Thu, 31 Jul 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 43389 at http://wmra.org Alone with Your Thoughts Children Who Say They’ve Lived Before http://wmra.org/post/children-who-say-they-ve-lived <p>Jim Tucker is a psychiatrist. But a rather unusual one.</p><p>He travels the world talking to children.</p><p>Specifically to children who claim to remember living a previous life.<br /> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 43259 at http://wmra.org Children Who Say They’ve Lived Before