Tom Graham http://wmra.org en Earth Week? http://wmra.org/post/earth-week <p><em><strong>On The Next Virginia Insight:</strong></em> 44 years ago, April 22 marked the first official, "Earth Day." (It got started here in the U.S. but soon spread across the globe.)&nbsp;</p><p>Now some Virginia environmentalists are among those who believe a whole, "Earth Week," is in order.</p><p>We consider that possibility... as well as look for the latest news on how the Earth is doing.</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 20:05:00 +0000 Tom Graham 38644 at http://wmra.org Earth Week? A Virginia Politics Update http://wmra.org/post/virginia-politics-update-9 <p>Virginia’s new fiscal year begins the first of July. Normally, well before now, lawmakers would have already approved a spending plan for that new fiscal year.&nbsp; The plan would help fund public schools and local governments, as well as cover the cost of every single state agency. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 38481 at http://wmra.org A Virginia Politics Update Breaking Bread with Philosophy - An Update http://wmra.org/post/breaking-bread-philosophy-update <p>When Marietta McCarty wrote her most recent book, she envisioned people using it as a guide for dinnertime conversation in people’s homes. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 38339 at http://wmra.org Breaking Bread with Philosophy - An Update A Fireman’s Tale http://wmra.org/post/fireman-s-tale <p>You saved lives as a medic in Vietnam... explored the deepest seas as a Navy salvage diver... and even spent time as a theater director in New York.&nbsp;</p><p>But your favorite job?&nbsp;</p><p>Your years as a Virginia firefighter.</p><p>We talk with Danny Lliteras about his new memoir, <em>Flames and Smoke Visible</em>.</p><p></p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 37665 at http://wmra.org A Fireman’s Tale Independence Technology http://wmra.org/post/independence-technology-0 <p>Technology... It is supposed to make life easier, save us time and effort, and make us more free. But is that always the case? Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 37825 at http://wmra.org Independence Technology Key Questions About Wrongful Convictions http://wmra.org/post/key-questions-about-wrongful-convictions-0 <p>After researching hundreds of trials and tens of thousands of court documents, a Virginia lawyer is pursuing some critical questions about wrongful convictions. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 37824 at http://wmra.org Key Questions About Wrongful Convictions Physics All Around Us http://wmra.org/post/physics-all-around-us-0 <p>The science of Physics. Ever wonder what it has to do with your everyday world? Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 37691 at http://wmra.org Physics All Around Us A Virginia Politics Update http://wmra.org/post/virginia-politics-update-8 <p>The quest to fund state government... Ethics reform that isn't... Washington's paperwork mine... Even the president’s blue jeans. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 37513 at http://wmra.org A Virginia Politics Update March-ing Back into that Garden Again http://wmra.org/post/march-ing-back-garden-again <p>By now maybe you have forgotten all about that white stuff you had been using a shovel on until recently... because your focus has switched completely to digging in the dirt. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 37354 at http://wmra.org March-ing Back into that Garden Again Same Party / Different View http://wmra.org/post/same-party-different-view <p>You may have heard that funding to keep Virginia government running later this year is currently caught in the middle of a bitter debate. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 37221 at http://wmra.org Same Party / Different View