Shankar Vedantam http://wmra.org en Some Parole Requirements Could Be Increasing The Crime Rate http://wmra.org/post/some-parole-requirements-could-be-increasing-crime-rate Prisoners who are released invariably make it back to the areas where they came from. Does this have a positive or negative effect on crime? Research triggered by Hurricane Katrina offers insight. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 42435 at http://wmra.org Safety Feature For Pedestrians Has Undesired Consequence http://wmra.org/post/safety-feature-pedestrians-has-undesired-consequence New analysis finds that the countdown clocks telling pedestrians how much time they have to cross the intersection actually increase traffic crashes. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 09:09:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 42127 at http://wmra.org How To Sell Green Products To The Self-Regarding Consumer http://wmra.org/post/how-sell-green-products-self-regarding-consumer Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>When consumers think about green products, they often face a dilemma - that car that uses less gasoline or a more efficient refrigerator tends to cost more. Buyers have to choose whether money is more important to them than public good. Now new research shows there might be a way to boost interest in these products, at least among a core group of consumers. NPR social science correspondent Shankar Vedantam is here to talk with us about that. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 11:10:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 41922 at http://wmra.org 6 Decades Of Research Examines Prisoners Of War http://wmra.org/post/6-decades-research-examines-prisoners-war Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>The Taliban's recent release of Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl has prompted a firestorm of political debate. Bergdahl was captured by the Taliban after he wandered away from his unit in Afghanistan. Some have rushed to brand him a deserter and a traitor. Other,s including his friends and family, have rushed to his defense. Today we step away from that debate to look at what we've learned about the psychological effects of being captured in wartime. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 41638 at http://wmra.org What's In A Grunt — Or A Sigh, Or A Sob? Depends On Where You Hear It http://wmra.org/post/whats-grunt-or-sigh-or-sob-depends-where-you-hear-it Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR news this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. Hear a laugh, you know someone's happy. Hear a sob, you know someone is sad. Or are they? It's been thought that no matter where you live in the world, people express emotions using the same repertoire of sounds. Fri, 30 May 2014 21:04:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 40691 at http://wmra.org Research: Children Of Judges May Influence Court Decisions http://wmra.org/post/research-children-judges-may-influence-court-decisions It's been suspected that judges are swayed by their personal beliefs and affiliations. An analysis found that judges become more likely to rule in "pro-feminist" ways if the judges have daughters. Wed, 28 May 2014 10:40:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 40540 at http://wmra.org Mating Rituals: Why Certain Risky Behaviors Can Make You Look Hot http://wmra.org/post/mating-rituals-why-certain-risky-behaviors-can-make-you-look-hot Social science research suggests risky behavior such as braving heights or swimming in deep waters increases your sex appeal. Driving without a seat belt? Not so much. Wed, 21 May 2014 09:22:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 40211 at http://wmra.org Why Reporting On Scientific Research May Warp Findings http://wmra.org/post/why-reporting-scientific-research-may-warp-findings Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Next we're going to report on scientific research, in particular on the way that reporting on scientific research might actually warp the findings. Scientists face pressure to publish new discoveries, which in turn might influence what they study, and that, of course, is not necessarily a good thing. There's work being published today that's part of an effort to fix this problem. Mon, 19 May 2014 10:36:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 40095 at http://wmra.org Does Diversity On Research Team Improve Quality Of Science? http://wmra.org/post/does-diversity-research-team-improve-quality-science As science becomes more diverse, scientific collaborators are growing more diverse, too. New research exploring the effect of this change suggests the diversity of the teams that produce scientific research play a big role in how successful the science turns out to be. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 09:09:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 37366 at http://wmra.org Military Conflict Decisions: Why Weakness Leads To Aggression http://wmra.org/post/military-conflict-decisions-why-weakness-leads-aggression Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>From Syria to Afghanistan, to Russia and Ukraine, the United States finds itself confronting some major foreign policy challenges. There are old rivalries and new one testing the limits of the United States.<p>NPR social science correspondent Shankar Vedantam regularly joins us to talk about matters related to individual and organizational behavior, but today, he's found some new research that's relevant to the way we think about foreign conflicts and he's in our studios. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 08:57:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 36824 at http://wmra.org