2012 Election Coverage on WMRA http://wmra.org en Paulette Moore of Occupy Harrisonburg on OWS, One Year Later http://wmra.org/post/paulette-moore-occupy-harrisonburg-ows-one-year-later <p>The protests in New York City that came to be known as Occupy Wall Street began one year ago today, and spread to cities nationwide, including, last October, Harrisonburg. Mon, 17 Sep 2012 10:40:00 +0000 Bob Leweke 12972 at http://wmra.org Governor Tim Kaine: Budgets, Taxes, Republicans and the U.S. Senate http://wmra.org/post/governor-tim-kaine-budgets-taxes-republicans-and-us-senate <p>Former Governor Tim Kaine is running against former Republican Governor George Allen for the U.S. Senate.</p><p>Governor Kaine appeared on the campaign trail with President Obama in Charlottesville in late August, during which he said “Virginia will not go back, and the nation will not go back.”&nbsp; Bob asked him what <em>Republican</em> programs or policies he believes would do that.</p> Mon, 03 Sep 2012 10:40:00 +0000 Bob Leweke 12262 at http://wmra.org Governor Tim Kaine: Budgets, Taxes, Republicans and the U.S. Senate Allen on 'Repeal & Replace', Guns, and the Budget http://wmra.org/post/allen-repeal-replace-guns-and-budget-0 <p><a href="http://www.georgeallen.com/landing/right-thing-to-do/">Republican George Allen</a> is running to retake the U-S Senate seat he lost in 2006 to Jim Webb, who is retiring after one term. Fri, 10 Aug 2012 11:18:26 +0000 Bob Leweke 11163 at http://wmra.org Allen on 'Repeal & Replace', Guns, and the Budget Andy Schmookler: Democratic Candidate for the 6th District http://wmra.org/post/andy-schmookler-democratic-candidate-6th-district <p>Andy Schmookler is the Democratic challenger to 6th District Republican Congressman Bob Goodlatte in the November elections.</p><p>Virginia&#39;s 6th District covers all or part of Shenandoah, Rockingham, Highland, Augusta, Alleghany, Bath, Bedford, Rockbridge, Botetourt, Roanoke and Amherst Counties.&nbsp; Bob Leweke spoke with Mr. Schmookler, who began by describing why he is running.</p><p>Find more about <a href="http://andyschmooklerforcongress.com/" target="_blank">Andy Schmookler</a>.</p> Thu, 28 Jun 2012 10:20:00 +0000 Bob Leweke 9027 at http://wmra.org Andy Schmookler: Democratic Candidate for the 6th District Mock Convention Time at Washington & Lee http://wmra.org/post/mock-convention-time-washington-lee <p>Just about every four years since 1908, the students at Washington and Lee have staged a mock convention to predict the presidential nominee for the party out of power… and this year that’s the Republicans. Tue, 07 Feb 2012 11:20:00 +0000 Bob Leweke 1873 at http://wmra.org Mock Convention Time at Washington & Lee Former Governor and U.S. Senator George Allen on Running for the Senate http://wmra.org/post/former-governor-and-us-senator-george-allen-running-senate <p>Former Virginia Governor and U.S. Senator George Allen is the expected Republican nominee for Virginia&rsquo;s open U.S. Senate seat in November, the same seat he held until his defeat for re-election in 2006. He recently spoke about the issues in this year&rsquo;s campaign, and about the federal government&#39;s role is in creating jobs. Fri, 27 Jan 2012 11:20:00 +0000 Bob Leweke 1476 at http://wmra.org Former Governor and U.S. Senator George Allen on Running for the Senate Ethics in Political Journalism http://wmra.org/post/ethics-political-journalism <p>Heard any good political news lately? Perhaps we should explain... By <em>good</em> we are talking about quality reporting that is in-depth, helpful, and reliable. Mon, 23 Jan 2012 21:02:00 +0000 Tom Graham 1015 at http://wmra.org Ethics in Political Journalism A "Fair" Tax? http://wmra.org/post/fair-tax <p>Proponents call it the &quot;Fair Tax.&quot;<br /><br /> But just how fair would it be to replace all federal taxes with a 23% sales tax? Thu, 12 Jan 2012 21:41:09 +0000 Tom Graham 635 at http://wmra.org A "Fair" Tax?